The Lane Tech Alumni Association Hall of Fame was created to increase awareness and broaden recognition of the accomplishments of Lane Tech graduates. Inductees have made exceptional contributions to the greater good and have inspired us all to live out our motto:

Wherever you go, whatever you do, remember the honor of Lane.

Each inductee has achieved a level of excellence in their specific field that brings distinction and honor to themselves, and in turn to their alma mater. Induction into the Alumni Hall of Fame is the highest honor bestowed upon an alumnus or alumna by the Lane Tech Alumni Association.

2021-22 Hall of Fame Inductees

Tracy Baim

Class of 1980

Tracy Baim was the co-publisher of the Chicago Reader who guided the weekly newspaper to non-profit status in 2022 and is the co-founder of Windy City Times. Baim received the 2013 Chicago Headline Club Lifetime Achievement Award. In 2014, she was inducted into the NLGJA: The Association of LGBTQ Journalists Hall of Fame. She is also in the Association for Women Journalists-Chicago Chapter Hall of Fame and the Chicago LGBT Hall of Fame. She is a film producer and the author/co-author of 13 books.

Ertharin Cousin

Class of 1975

Cousin has graced Forbes “100 Most Powerful Women” list, TIME Magazine’s “100 Most Influential People” list, and the list of the “500 Most Powerful People on the Planet” by Foreign Policy magazine. As one of the first female students at Lane, this trailblazer’s career has focused on global agriculture and food insecurity. Cousin served as Executive Director of the UN World Food Program from 2012-2017. Prior to that, she was U.S. Ambassador to the UN Agencies for Food and Agriculture.

David F. James

Class of 1941

David James was an original Tuskegee Airmen, flying combat missions over Europe during WWII.  He was the first African American attorney hired by the ABA and served as Illinois Deputy Director for the War on Poverty which led to the Economic Opportunity Act of 1964. James was the first African American homeowner in Winnetka and worked tirelessly to improve race relations through various organizations including TWIG summer camp for youth from the city and north shore, which he founded and remains active today.

Jack T. Nelson

Class of 1915

One of the things that makes Lane unique is our school song, Go Lane Go! Surprisingly, many Laneites are unaware that it is an original composition written by Jack T. Nelson, Class of 1915.  Nelson was the assistant conductor of the orchestra and manager of the Glee Club, as well as one of the first editors of the school newspaper. His song debuted on December 15,1914 and was quickly adopted by the student body. Go Jack Go!

Kurt Sacksteder

Class of 1971

As Deputy Chief Technologist at NASA Glenn Research Center, Sacksteder has dedicated his 40-year career to aerospace innovations that predict the effects of extreme environments on aerospace materials. Microgravity combustion systems, equipment for planetary surface mining, and sustainable energy storage systems called Thermal Wadis are just a few of the breakthrough projects Sacksteder has coordinated. The results of his work enable NASA to explore the Moon and Mars more efficiently and for longer periods of time.

Warren Winiarski

Class of 1947

Winiarski is a Napa Valley resident, former winery owner/winemaker, grape grower, and philanthropist. He and wife, Barbara, co-founded Stag’s Leap Wine Cellars in 1970 and their first commercial release, the 1973 Cabernet Sauvignon, edged out French top Bordeaux wines and took first place for red wines at the Judgment of Paris tasting in 1976. A bottle of his winning wine is part of the Smithsonian’s permanent collection.

This inaugural list represents the alumni installed on the Lane Tech Wall of Fame between 1990 and 2008:

James Ascot, 1969

Franz Benteler, 1943

William J. Cormack, 1951

Anna Davlantes, 1988

Admiral Robert F. Dunn, 1946

John Gianopulos, 1949

Evon Greanias, 1940

John Herrera, 1974

Bernard Joseph, 1940

Robert Juengling, 1958

General Donald Kutyna, 1951

Chuck Logan, 1960

Aloysius Mazewski, 1934

Harrell McDemmond, 1938

Admiral Richard W. Mies, 1962

Edgar Muenzer, 1945

Frederick Douglass “Fritz” Pollard, 1912

Marty Robinson, 1950

Mitchell L. Saranow, 1953

John Schwan, 1961

Ted Schwartz, 1971

Howard K. Soehrmann, 1941

John C. Stetson, 1938

Phil Cavaretta  1930-1934

Carl Giammarese  1962-1965

Francesco LoVecchio (Frankie Laine)  1926-1930

Johnny Weissmuller  1918

Carl Barnickol: PE Faculty, Coach, Athletic Director who established intramural sports and the Letterman’s Club

William Bogan: First Principal of Lane Tech, Superintendent of Chicago Public Schools

Mina Del Castillo: Architecture Faculty, first woman certified to teach technical subjects in Chicago

Maurice Golden: Music Faculty, Band Director

William Lewis ‘53: Chemistry Faculty, Cross Country and Track & Field Coach including the 1974 State Championship team

Percy Moore: PE Faculty, Coach, known as Mr. Baseball, he guided 85 players into the minor leagues and 10 players into the MLB, including Phil Cavaretta

All LTAA members are welcome to nominate a classmate, fellow alumnus, or even themselves. The LTAA Hall of Fame Committee and the Board of Directors will determine the finalists. Inductees will have demonstrated exceptional contributions in their fields and exemplify our Champion spirit.

Inductees will be named each year on March 15th, the birthdate of Albert Grannis Lane.

Click here for a nomination form